May 2017 Wrap Up

Hellooooooo! YES, I know this is WAYYYY overdue and it’s also been a while since I have posted on here but please bear with me. My work schedule, class schedule, and home life is a little hectic right now but I promise I will NEVER LEAVE YOU GUYS!

So without further ado (because it’s already late lol) let’s get into it!

I actually had a pretty productive month for the month of May; there was one day before my work started that I literally read THE ENTIRE DAY AND FINISHED A WHOLE BOOK (start to end) and it was great!!!

One of the books I read was Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

  • I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • When I finished the book I was super excited to start the next book (I literally went on Amazon and bought it within 2 minutes of finishing it)
  • I love how there are so many different perspectives because there are so many characters
  • I’ve heard this is a “Game of Thrones for a YA audience” and I cannot tell you if that’s true or not because I don’t watch or haven’t read Game of Thrones soooo… yeahhhh
  • My favorite character: Princess Cleo
  • Least favorite character: Prince Magnus
  • Recommend? OF COURSE

Another book I read was The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Adieh

  • I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • CAN I JUST SAY HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS BOOK
  • The writing is so beautiful and elegant; the imagery set such a beautiful picture in my head for the story
  • I read A Thousand And One Nights in high school and since this is a retelling it was really interesting to see how she used certain elements of the original story
  • Favorite character: The prince (SO MUCH CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT)
  • Least favorite character: Shazi (I know I should love her but she kind of annoyed me)
  • Recommend? Yes

Next: Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

  • I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Not as good as the first book but I still love how she uses the whole concept of inter-dimensional travel
  • PAUL WILL FOREVER AND EVER BE MY FAVORITE FICTIONAL BOYFRIEND
  • Nothing will ever beat the Russia-verse
  • Favorite Character: Paul duh
  • Least favorite character: Theo
  • Recommend? Yes

Another book I read was Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner

  • I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • This is a contemporary book which is usually not my forte but I inhaled this book; I literally finished it in one day (as mentioned earlier)
  • I work at a pool this summer so it was kind of cool to have a book set around swimmers and in the summer time
  • It incorporated disabilities (one of the characters is an amputee, hence the title “phantom limbs”), and others go through PTSD and it’s evident throughout the story
  • Recommend? YES

Last but certainly not least, I read 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

  • I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐
  • This is the definition of contemporary YA books
  • It was a cute and quick read; but it was kind of cheesy
  • I do want to say that I am a little jealous that she backpacked around Europe BY HERSELF at age like 17 (my mom would kill me)
  • Recommend? Eh.. If contemporary is your thing then go for it

Leave a comment